Local businesspeople for June 15, 2015

York Dispatch

To submit business news for this column, email community@yorkdispatch.com.


Horn Farm Center for Agricultural Education: Alyson Earl has been named executive director.


Gavin Advertising: Won two Gold Hermes Creative awards in the Association of Marketing and Communication Professionals competition. First in the business-to-consumer category for redesigning and development of the Kimman's website, and then in the point-of-purchase category for its Martin/Kunzler co-marketing project. It also received an honorable mention in the business to consumer category for design and development of the website for Underground West, a hidden dining experience in York.

Lamar Advertising Co.: George Merovich, director of regional development, was inducted into the Outdoor Advertising Association of America Hall of Fame at the association's national convention and expo in San Diego, Calif.

Moonstone Creations: Local author Tessa Shaffer's book, "Heaven Has No Regrets," was named a finalist in the National Indie Excellence Award competition, young adult non-fiction category.


Downtown Inc: Kristen Evans has joined the organization as the marketing and events coordinator. She also oversees marketing and communications including monthly e-newsletters, social media accounts and website, DowntownYorkPa.com.


York Jewish Community Center: George Kapterian was promoted to school age director, formerly the assistant school age child care director, and Kevin Kennedy was promoted to assistant school age director, formerly a teacher.


RoseDog Books: Author Sandra D. (Marin) Reynolds-Herrell, of York, has written a new children's book, "The Adventures of Jonnie (A Rooftop Squirrel)."

York County Community Foundation: Announcements from its May 14 annual meeting are:

Retirement of president/CEO: William Hartman, after six years of leadership.

New president/CEO: Jane M. Conover.

Board members, first term: Dominic DelliCarpini, York College dean of academic affairs; Sally Dixon, Memorial Hospital president and CEO; William Hartman, YCCF former president and CEO; Jack Kay, Susquehanna Real Estate president and CEO; and Daniel Waltersdorff, Barton Associates president and CEO.

Board members, second term: Timothy J. Bupp, CGA Law Firm; Elizabeth F. Carson, retired, M&T Bank; and Ronald L. Hershner, Stock & Leader managing partner.

Board members, third term: Henry J. Christ III, E.K. McConkey & Co. chairman; David M. Davidson, C.S. Davidson chief financial officer and board chair; and Michael H. Hady III, York Traditions Bank business management partner.

Retiring board directors: Dr. Charles H. Chodroff, WellSpan Health senior vice president and chief clinical officer; Loren H. Kroh, Campus ToolKit president; Michael Newsome, The Wolf Organization executive vice president and chief financial officer; and Margaret Z. Swartz, retired, Olde Country Reproductions.

Board officers: Paul L. Rudy III, chair; William R. Hartman, first vice chair; Jeffrey D. Lobach, second vice chair; Holly Mayer, secretary; Krista Snyder Darr, assistant secretary; and Henry J. Christ, treasurer.

Board members: Carl E. Anderson, John W. Bailey, Bruce Bartels, Timothy Bupp, Elizabeth F. Carson, Joseph P. Clark II, Jane M. Conover, David L. Cross, David M. Davidson, Dominic DelliCarpini, Sally Dixon, Jennifer Geesey, Michael H. Hady III, Michael Haun, Ronald L. Hershner, Jack Kay, Timothy Kinsley, Susan D. Krebs, Lori O. Mitrick, John M. Polli, Scott C. Rogers, William S. Shipley III, John J. Shorb, Patti Stirk, Joseph G. Wagman, Daniel Waltersdorff and

Claire S. Weaver.

Legal counsel: Alex Snyder, Barley Snyder partner.

York County Economic Alliance: The redesigned website, www.ycea-pa.org, was launched in May.