People You Know for June 8, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


National American Miss: Damari Moye, 9, of York, has been named a finalist in the Junior Pre-Teen division of the pageant, Aug. 14-15 in Harrisburg.

Alvernia University: Brooke Deamer, of Hanover, is one of eight students who are improving water filtration in the Dominican Republic as part of a faculty-led study abroad program.

Bob Jones University: Andrew Redding, of York, was named to the spring president's list.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Casey Kelly, of Glen Rock, received the Emily Fabini Memorial Journalism Scholarship.

Miami University: Aislinn Benfield, of York, is part of the summer study program in Baja.

Penn State Behrend: Kenneth Gross, of York, was named to the American Collegiate Hockey Association Division 3 All-Academic Team.


Bloomsburg University:

Dallastown: Benjamin Kuhn and Kaitlyn Small.

Dillsburg: Rebekah King, Rebekah Mull, Jenna Smith, Matthew Starcher, Jaclyn Vitale, Zachary Webb and Kali Yursha.

East Prospect: Thyme Greenfield.

Etters: Amber Speicher.Glen Rock: Levi Myers.

Hanover: Logan Feeser, Tyler Feeser and Laura Prenger.

Jacobus: Lindsay Wright.

Lewisberry: Seth Berry, Chad Klinedinst and Stephan Vajdic.

New Freedom: Samantha Morgan.

Red Lion: Tara Boyd and Jonathan Snyder.

Seven Valleys: Moriah Abrahamsen and Kaitlyn Winters.

Spring Grove: Brooke Dipaula, Ty Sager and Heather Wivell.

Stewartstown: Kaitlyn Mathy.

Wrightsville: Kylie Goodling.

York: Tanner Bowman, Sarah Crumling, Aaron Flanders, Amy Harcourt, Emily Hoffman, Samantha Holt, Caroline Linde, Shayla Lutzinger, Katelyn Morton, Nicholas Shellenberger, Shane Solomon, Michael Springer, Caitlin Sullivan, Christopher Toth, Adam Vaupel, Rachel Wrightand Michael Yorgey.

York Haven: Brendon Juengst.

York New Salem: Danielle Gregory and Austin Wood.

Duke University: Korrine E. Terroso, of York.

James Madison University: Brittany Boyer, of Shrewsbury, and Rachel Phillips, of Stewartstown.

Lebanon Valley College: Courtney Benson, Alayna Kalinay and Timothy Monko, all of Dillsburg; Kyle Cook, Ross Drawbaugh and Erin Wetzel, all of Dover; Connor Smith, of Fawn Grove; JoAnne Rubelmann, of Felton; Abbey Barnhart and Josiah Schendel, both of Glen Rock; Ryan Dotson, Mickeal Pugh, Carleigh Shrader and Morgan Yealy, all of Hanover; Kali Rodgers, of Lewisberry; Paige Riddle, of Mount Wolf; Rachel Moltz, of New Freedom; Derek Baum, Madeline Chronister, Jill Daugherty, Aubrey Dietrich and Laura Schmidt, all of Red Lion; Sara Behm, Alexandra Garrett, Kayla Muff and Andrew Walker, all of Spring Grove; Kaytlyn Fiedler and Caitlin Schlaline, both of Stewartstown; Spencer Miller and Kaitlyn Rappoldt, both of Thomasville; Taylor Frey, Sarah Piascinski and Emily Thoman, all of Wrightsville; and Nicole Breighner, Rachel Eyler, Sarah Foery, Sydney Fuhrman, Klayton Garman, Kaleb Hamme, Hunter Heath, Jordan Hykes, Hannah Jones, Meghan McCurdy, Kaila McGee, Jordyn Miller, Lyndsay Riedel, Johnathan Salcedo, Jordyn Shields, Brittney Shue, Emily Sides, Dominique Sprenkle, Carissa Stottlemyer, Vincent Tranchitella, Amy Wagner, Morgan Webb and Bradley Wood, all of York.

Lehigh University: Logan Hodges, of Lewisberry; Alexander Hake, of Mount Wolf; Nicolette Drescher, Sarah Dudney, Ornella Ngounou and Patrick Reilly, all of York; and Benjamin Dunmire, of York Haven.

Susquehanna University: Emily Firestone and Alexander Hamm, both of Dover; Austin Grubb, Amy Sowers and David Zinn, all of Hanover; Laura Rishell and Matthew Rishell, both of Jacobus; Jessica Tilley, of Lewisberry; Jamie Marrs and Shelby McGuigan, both of Mount Wolf; Madison Summers, of New Freedom; Alexis Aument, of Thomasville; and Derek Butler, Kellie Butler, Abby Conway, Maria Rohde and Heather Zinn, all of York.


Shepherd University: Darrell R. Johnson, of York.


Bucknell University: Eric Kwiatkowski II (cum laude) and Caesar Vulley (cum laude), both of Hanover; Hunter Campbell (cum laude), Christina Gonzalez (with honors in anthropology), and Marcy Wachter (cum laude).

Elizabethtown College: Shanise D. Marshall (magna cum laude), of Dallastown; Julia Miller (cum laude) and Nicole L. Pressel, both of Etters; Connor J. Perry, of Glenville; Cody A. Kump, Cristian M. Salgado and Mallory A. Slusser (magna cum laude), all of Hanover; Abigail Riccardo (magna cum laude), of Manchester; Colette N. Hinton, Renee M. Roth and Alexander D. Wildberger, all of Red Lion; Jamie F. Hopkins (cum laude), Kara M. Rohrbaugh (summa cum laude) and Tucker S. Strausbaugh, all of Spring Grove; Madelyn M. Herman, Andrea M. Russo, Kelci J. Scannapieco (magna cum laude) and Lindsey M. Zearfoss (magna cum laude), all of York; and Dustin L. Cramer, of York New Salem.

Mary Baldwin College: Hilary Victoria Therit, of Hanover, magna cum laude.

Shepherd University: Katelyn M. Amspacher (summa cum laude and Joseph McMurran Scholar) of Red Lion, and Rebecca A. Shayda, York.


Providence College: Brett Jenson, of York.


Army: Joseph Colonna, of Etters, was commissioned as a second lieutenant during Widener University's Dauntless Battalion ROTC commissioning ceremony on May 14. He graduated with a bachelor's degree on May 16.

Army: Pvt. Saudea L. Mcclambday, of York, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.