People You Know for May 21, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


Belmont University: MacKenzie Groff of Dallastown, and Abigail Rill, of York.

Temple University: Alexandra Snell, of York.


Lehigh University: Rachel Whittemore, of Stewartstown.


Alvernia University: Jessica Lynn Newcomer (magna cum laude), of Dillsburg; Brooke Nicole Deamer, of Hanover; Brandon Jason Young, of Stewartstown; and Aimie Lynn Terry, of York Haven.

Gettysburg College: Rachel Loretta Clasing, of Glen Rock; Ryan Matthew McCabe and Mark Clyde Staub, both of Hanover; Taylor Michelle Flatau, of Red Lion; and Kathryn Ann Afflebach, Stefany Nicole Laun, Katelyn Eileen McClinton and Alexander Ryan Schirk, all of York.

Juniata College: Johnathan Michael Abend, of Hanover; Forest D. Miller, of Manchester; Lance Michael Sanderson, of Mount Wolf; and Paul David Kuhn, Courtney Marie Peterson, Emily Dale White and Emily Taylor Wolf, all of York.

King's College: Adam Michael Wujcik, of York.

Lehigh University: David Quackenbos, of Brogue; Lauren Glackin, of Delta; Michael Spigelmyer and Tanzirul Hoque, both of Hanover; Nicholas Hartman, of Spring Grove; and Nicolette Drescher and Zion Um, both of York.

Lycoming College: Garrett Hartman, of Jacobus; Rebecca Sellers (cum laude), of Wrightsville; and Elizabeth Klejka and Benjamin Leinaweaver, both of York.

Millersville University:

Airville: Katharine Foster and Jeremiah Good.

Brogue: Katie Bacon and Taylor Bortner.

Dallastown: Rachel Chioda, Elliott Iula and Casie Sultzbaugh.

Dillsburg: Summer Brubaker, Amanda Clark, Kaelea Fulcomer, Maggie Johnson and Christopher Junkin.

Dover: Derek Rittle, Mark Tucci and Cristopher Zink.

Etters: Kailynn Ott, Kaleigh Ott and Jill Spangenburg.

Fawn Grove: Matthew Cardenuto.

Felton: Emily Hepner and Lauran Seitz.

Glen Rock: Shayne Boyd, Atalie Maynard, David Swidor and Kristen Whitehair.

Hanover: Ashlee Alliod, Adam Denk, Cameron Nizer-Addison, Heather O'Neill, Autumn Rapp, Zachariah Swope and Austin Vacek.

Lewisberry: Seth Hoover and Kaitlin Rutt.

Manchester: Stacey Bennett and Amy Payne.

New Freedom: Mariah Hammacher, Steven Hricko, Megan Lipin and Ema Williamson.

Red Lion: Jacob Miller and Timothy Purcell.

Seven Valleys: Jennifer Floray.

Shrewsbury: Alexandra Ellington and Jenna Goldman.

Spring Grove: Brian Biery, Nicole Hartman and Brooke Hooper-Attig.

Stewartstown: Matthew Chenoweth, Casey Cheskey, Natalie D'antoni, Catherine McLeavey and Matthew Romoser.

Thomasville: Tyler Bishop and Clinton Myers.

Wellsville: Megan Baum and Leah Ilgenfritz.

Windsor: Jessica Grove, John Lewis and Courtney Mohler.

Wrightsville: Victoria McAnnaney.

York: Ralphy Batista, Katherine Bentz, Matthew Bowen, Sarah Bradley, Christopher Brown, Conrad Burkholder, Jacqueline Carpenter, Amanda Carroll, Meghan Concino, Mollie Divet, Yatzi Garcia, Shaquille Glover, Mary Godin, Nathan Grim, Kanan Grosklos, Taylor Anne Gross, Abigail Gruber, Kyra Hildebrand-Bell, Maria Jacome Ottati, J'la Kent, Trisha Kling, Ariel Leader, Nathan Leierer, Kiersten Levens, Cory Litke, Angela Moyer, Kevin Myers, Zachary Oberlander, Katlynn Quick, Jorge Ramos Rosas, Shanice Santos, Dylan Sarver, Jeremy Saur, Jennifer Schwarz, Audrey Scott, Matthew Small, Jerrod Steis, Alexis Stover, Kristen Stump, Casey Swank, Katie Tyson, Kenneth White, Jessica Whitfield and Selam Wossene.

York Haven: Timothy See and John Wheatley.

Susquehanna University: Alexander Hamm (cum laude), of Dover; Amy Sowers (cum laude), of Hanover; Laura Rishell, of Jacobus; and Derek Butler (magna cum laude) and Maria Rohde, both of York.

Temple University: Alexandra Snell, of York, magna cum laude and the Free-Speech Advocacy Award from the School of Media and Communications.

University of New Hampshire: Alexander Dannehl, of York, summa cum laude.


Drexel University School of Law: Alexandra Snell, of York, received a Rising Advocate Scholarship for the fall.

Lebanon Valley College: Among the Class of 2015 students who were honored as Green Dot ambassadors for their commitment to campus violence prevention are Samuel Calabria, of Dillsburg; Derek Baum, of Red Lion; Sarah Piascinski, of Wrightsville; and Jordyn Shields, of York.

McDaniel College: Samantha Lucia Belivakici, of Hanover, had work showcased in the Senior Capstone Exhibition.

Susquehanna University: Shelby McGuigan, of Mount Wolf, attended the Women's Leadership Symposium in New York City.

Widener University School of Law: Lauren S. Linsenbach, of Dillsburg, received the Pamela K. Karpouzis Memorial Scholarship.


Army: Matthew Kozar, of York, was commissioned as a second lieutenant after completing the Army Reserve Officers Training Corps program and graduating from Temple University with a bachelor's degree.