People You Know for May 19, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


Albright College: Among the students recognized at the Honors & Awards ceremony on May 3 are Riley Metz, of Dover, the Ella M. Schaeffer Music Award: Instrumental, and the Edwin L. Bell Endowed Biology Prize; Vashti Brown, of Hanover, the WXAC Senior Award; and Rebecca Stickler, of Wrightsville, the Communications Department Faculty Award.

Lebanon Valley College: Samuel Calabria, of Dillsburg, received a Gold Community Service Award at the May 9 commencement ceremony.


Lycoming College: Cara Brooks and Emily DiBiase, both of Dallastown; Tara Kaltreider, of Felton; Kathryn Bathgate, of Hanover; Emily Rupe and Rebecca Sellers, both of Wrightsville; Elizabeth Klejka, Benjamin Leinaweaver, Cathrin Manning and Bethany Richardson, all of York; and Rachel Duncan, of York Haven.

The University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown: Aaron W. Inkrote and Anna Ort, both of Dallastown; Gregory L. Dederer, Andrew G. Keirn, Delaney C. Roman and Jacob A. Warner, all of Dillsburg; Carley L. Johnston, of Dover; Holden M. Jones and Katelyn E. Thomas, both of Hanover; Hope E. Andrews and Breana N. Hill, both of Manchester; Joshua C. Doverspike and Tayler J. Vebares, both of Red Lion; Carly J. Bolton, of Spring Grove; Eden A. Cohen, of Stewartstown; Kiel M. Rutters, of Wellsville; and Justin M. Adkins, Samantha M. Christine, Andrew Dinkel, Christian P. Farah, Robert C. Hager, Elena M. Mingora, Victoria F. Rizzuto, Madeline A. Stephens and Savannah A. Sullivan, all of York.


Bob Jones University: Bethany Edwards, of Delta.

Penn State York: Donna L. Blum (with distinction), of Glenville; Alicia M. Aldrich, of Mount Wolf; Michael Culbreth, of New Freedom; Nicholas R. Lehman, of Seven Valleys; Matthew Oxenrider, of Stewartstown; Ryan H. Blessing, of Wrightsville; Steven A. Englar and Timothy March, both of York; and Mark E. Poff, of York Haven.


Bob Jones University: Joy Dukes, of Manchester, and Andrew Redding (cum laude), of York.

Coastal Carolina University: Shannon Wesstrom, of York.

Lebanon Valley College:

Delta: Eric Kennedy.

Dillsburg: Samuel Calabria (magna cum laude and Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities).

Dover: Devin Dellinger.

Felton: Kim Gailey, Tyler Shaull and W. Bryan Shoemaker.

Hanover: Katelyn Helwig, Mickeal Pugh and Carleigh Shrader (summa cum laude).

Hellam: Jessica Boyd (cum laude).

Red Lion: Derek Baum and Jill Daugherty (magna cum laude).

Spring Grove: Seth Miller (cum laude) and Andrew Walker (magna cum laude).

Stewartstown: Caitlin Schlaline (summa cum laude).

West York: Cedrick McDonald.

Wrightsville: Sarah Piascinski (summa cum laude).

York: Jason Dietz, Kevin Donahue (magna cum laude), Rachel Eyler (cum laude and Who's Who Among Students in American Colleges and Universities), Sarah Foery (magna cum laude), Jonathan Fogleman (cum laude), La'jadah Freeland, Matthew Hollenberg, Jordyn Shields (magna cum laude), Brittney Shue (cum laude) and Daniel Weinel.

York Haven: Zachary Boisvert.

Penn State York: Kiersten E. Henry, of Dallastown; Nicole M. McDonald, of Dover; Jonathan A. Carder, of Fawn Grove; James W. Stetter, of Glenville; Allen J. Fream and Heather M. Smith, both of Hanover; Rebekah M. Portner and Adam T. Vetere, both of New Freedom; Cody A. Henry, of Red Lion; Mark A. Giblin, of Shrewsbury; Thomas S. Dehoff, James B. Gotwalt, Amy L. Hammonds, Magdalene Hoff and David L. Keene, all of Spring Grove; and Raymond L. Ames Jr. (with distinction), Melina J. Amparo, Jennifer A. Beaverson (with highest distinction), Prateek Dhar, John J. Doviak Jr., Emily R. Hummel, Rachel A. King, Sarah U. Kwon, Katherine D. Lewis, Joseph D. McGee, Lisa M. Moyer, Emily K. Muller, Eduardo A. Rayner, Logan P. Steckel, Roseann Stewart, Ashley N. Valentin, TaTyana D. Williams, Brandon M. Willis and Amanda L. Zech, all of York.


Lebanon Valley College: Debra O'Donnell, of Dillsburg; James McGarvey, of Glen Rock; Joy Springer, of Seven Valleys; and Daniel Brenner, Charles Conley, Charles Dorrough, Jared Forrey, David Hoffmann, Stephanie Myers and Robin Wible, of York.

Penn State York: Maria E. Sanders, of Hanover; Meredith C. Behler and Megan A. Nase, both of Mount Wolf; and Laura C. Deller and Sarah E. Kuhn, both of York.


Lebanon Valley College: Jessica Boyd, of Hellam; Kelsey Wallen, of Hanover; and Brianna Roman, of York.


Castleton State (Vt.) College: Emily Hudson, of Dillsburg, was named a member of the student orientation staff for the 2015-16 academic year.