People You Know for May 8, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


Lebanon Valley College: Students who received awards during Inquiry 2015 are:

Hunter Heath, of York, the Donald E. Byrne Jr. Award for Undergraduate Research.

Nicole Breighner, of York, an Alumni Scholarship.

Seth Miller, of Spring Grove, the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award.

Brittney Shue, of York, the Sigma Alpha Iota College Honor Award.

Samuel Calabria, of Dillsburg, the Gov. James H. Duff Award.

Madeline Chronister, of Red Lion, the Robert A. Clay Award in Sociology and the Sociology and Criminal Justice Research Award.

Carrie Pfleiger, of Dover, the Robert A. Nichols III Scholarship.

Joshua Reichert, of Dillsburg, an Alumni Scholarship.

Timothy Monko, of Dillsburg, an Alumni Scholarship.

Kaitlyn Rappoldt, of Thomasville, an Alumni Scholarship.

Johnathan Salcedo, of York, the Robert A. Clay Award in Sociology.

Rachel Moltz, of New Freedom, the American Chemical Society Inorganic Chemistry Award.

Alexandria Lehman, of York, the Freshman Achievement Award in Chemistry.

Morgan Yealy, of Hanover, the Elizabeth M. Geffen Scholarship in History and American Studies.

McDaniel College: Among the students who received Duke of Edinburgh awards are Jason Swartz, of Dillsburg, bronze; Rachel Sentz, of Felton, silver; Katarina Winhauer, of Hanover, silver; and Sophie White, of York, silver.


Champlain College: Christina McCown, of Dillsburg.


University of Dayton: Ryan Schuessler, of York.

honor societies

Alvernia University: Christopher Campo, was named a member of Alpha Phi Sigma national and St. Thomas More local criminal justice honor societies.

Alvernia University: Jennifer Mack, of York, was named a member of Phi Alpha honor society in social work.

Alvernia University: Laurel Crumling, of Mount Wolf, was named a member of the Pi Theta Epsilon national honor society for occupational therapy.

Kutztown University: Rebecca Swartz, of York, was inducted into Phi Alpha national honor society for social work.

Shippensburg University: Angela Hanwell and Jessica Johnson, both of Dover, and Megan Lundy, of York, were initiated into Phi Kappa Phi honor society for all academic disciplines.

University of Maryland: Amy Birley, of New Park, and Charles Schultheis, of York, were initiated into Phi Kappa Phi honor society for all academic disciplines.


Davis & Elkins College: Shauna Damon, of Mount Wolf, has been included in Who's Who in American Universities and Colleges.

Lebanon Valley College: Among the students who participated in Inquiry 2015 are Karla Bingaman, of Brogue; Eric Kennedy, of Delta; Timothy Monko, of Dillsburg; Carleigh Shrader and Morgan Yealy, both of Hanover; Madeline Chronister and Glenn Dietrich, both of Red Lion; Caitlin Schlaline, of Stewartstown; Mary Terese Sweitzer, of Windsor; and Rachel Eyler, Hunter Heath, Korissa Herrold and Kayla Zimmerman, all of York.

McDaniel College: Jason Swartz, of Dillsburg, and Rachel Sentz, of Felton, performed in the Gospel Choir concert on May 9.

Red Lion American Legion Post 543 Junior Auxiliary: Lisa Casagrande, a Red Lion Senior High School student and junior auxiliary member, was elected honorary junior president of the American Legion Auxiliary Department of Pennsylvania on March 28.


Air Force: Airman Keifer D. Dunklebarger, of York Haven, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Army: Pvt. Nelson A. Jackson, of Hanover, graduated from basic combat training, Fort Jackson, Columbia, S.C.