School Roundup for April 28, 2015

York Dispatch

Email items for this column to


Eastern York High School: Katie Grim and Olivia Painter for April.


Eastern York High School: Brianna A. Oppong-Antwi won a UPS Foundation Scholarship in the National Achievement Scholarship Program.

Susquehannock High School: Brady Achterberg has been named a National Merit Scholarship finalist.


National Achievement Scholarship Program: Brianna A. Oppong-Antwi, of Eastern York High School, won a UPS Foundation Scholarship.

Northern High School: Leanna Russell and Seven Downey, both juniors, entered artwork in Indiana University of Pennsylvania's High School Art Invitational.

Randolph-Macon Academy: Peter Blair, of Stewartstown, a junior, was named to the president's list for the second quarter.

York County Alliance for Learning: Among those honored at the York County School Directors Dinner on March 31 are:

Superintendents, five years of service: Robert Lombardo, Spring Grove Area; Michael Snell, Central York; and David Thomas, School of Technology.

School board directors, five years of service: Ralph Brandt, West York Area; Rick Engle, Hanover Public; Thomas Englerth and Kendall Menzer, Crispus Attucks Charter; Christine Hess and Linda Morningstar, Northeastern; Mary Hyson, South Eastern; Stacy Meyer, Spring Grove Area; Margie Orr and Sandie Walker, York City; and Kenneth Potter Jr., Dallastown Area.

Superintendent, 15 years of service: Barbara Rupp, South Western.

School board director, 10 years of service: Eric Cable, Spring Grove Area.

School board directors, 15 years of service: Kevin Gebhart, School of Technology; Ray Mummert, South Western; Chris Seitz, Red Lion Area; and Eric Wolfgang, Central York.

School board directors, 20 years or more: Bruce Bauman and Jerri Groncki, both 20 years, Southern York County School District; Douglas Stein, 20 years, Spring Grove Area; M. Ann Rinker, 24 years, York County School of Technology, and 31 years, South Western; Dale Myers, 25 years, South Western; and Darvin Shelley, 33 years, School of Technology, and 41 years, Eastern York.