People You Know, July 16, 2018

York Dispatch


East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania: Sophia Messner, of Dallastown, was inducted into the university's chapter of Sigma Phi Omega, the national honor society in gerontology. 

Lebanon Valley College: The college recently inducted several local students into a variety of honor societies.

Five local students were inducted into the college's chapter of Sigma Alpha Pi honor society. The students are Jordan Baum, of Dover; Noah Baxter, of Hanover; Jacob Weller, of Wellsville; Colin Young, of York; and Alyssa Boisvert, of York Haven. 

Three local students were inducted into the college's chapter of Phi Alpha Epsilon, which recognizes academic achievement and service. The students are JoAnne Rubelmann, of Felton; Abbey Barnhart, of Glen Rock; and Sydney Fuhrman, of York. 

One local student was inducted into the college's chapter of Sigma Iota Rho, a society focused on academics and service in the context of global affairs. The student is Emily Sybert, of Red Lion. 

Two local students were inducted into the college's chapter of Pi Sigma Alpha, a political science honors society. The students are Emily Sybert, of Red Lion, and Logan Stover, of York. 

Three local students were inducted into the college's chapter of Kappa Delta Pi honor society, the international honor society in education. The students are Lauren Sigmon, of Hanover; Cassandra Moore, of Seven Valleys; and Morgan Bamberger, of York. 

One local student was inducted into the college's chapter of Gamma Sigma Epsilon, the national chemistry honor society. The student is Alexandria Lehman, of York. 

One local student was inducted into Delta Mu Delta, the college's Business and Economics Department honor society. The student is Brandon McMinn, of Hanover. 

One local student was inducted into the college's chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa, the national honor society for religion studies and theology. The student is Jordan Heavel, of Hanover. 

Two local students were inducted into Phi Sigma Iota, the Department of Languages honor society, for academic fields related to foreign language, literature or culture. The students are  Emily Sybert, of Red Lion, and Paul Berry, of York. 

McDaniel College: Miranda Rep, of Hanover, was inducted into the Delta of Maryland Chapter of the Phi Beta Kappa national honor society. 

Phi Kappa Phi: Students at multiple colleges and universities were recently inducted into the the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. They are Megan Maloney, of York, at George Mason University;  Benjamin Reese, of Hanover, at Hood College; and Kaitlyn Small, of Dallastown, Hannah Taylor, of Dover, McKenna Schmittel, of Spring Grove, and Keara Hepler, of York, all at Bloomsburg University.

St. Francis University: The university recently inducted several local students into a variety of honor societies.

Four area students were inducted into the university's honor society, which required maintaining at least a 3.5 quality-point average and receiving no "F" grades during their entire undergraduate experience. The students are Jessica Mazzur, of Dallastown; Katherine Brothers, of Felton; Rachel Kelly, of Hanover; and Natalie Albright, of York. 

One local student was inducted inducted into the university's chapter of the Delta Epsilon Sigma National Scholastic Honor Society. The student is Natalie Albright, of York. 

University of Scranton: Gina Kelkis, of York, was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma, the business honor society.



McDaniel College: Owen Long, of Hanover, placed second in the McDaniel College Innovation Challenge Finals and won $3,000 for his Sertified pop-up business, which provides American Red Cross certified lifeguard training. 

Widener University: Samantha Schriver, of York, a William Penn Senior High School student was named a winner of the 2018 Widener University High School Leadership Awards for her work as the founder and president of William Penn's Gay-Straight Alliance.



Wilkes University: Daniel Mack, of Hanover, was awarded The Walter S. Carpenter Scholarship in Engineering; Brianna Schunk, of York, was awarded The Ballet Society of Wyoming Valley Scholarship; and Erika Zarfoss, of York, was awarded The Samuel Berk Memorial Scholarship. 



Trevecca Nazarene University: Katie Conner, of York. 

University of Rochester: Erin O'Malley, of York.



Gettysburg College: Scott Moore, of Red Lion. 



Central Penn College: 

Airville: Stephanie Bennington.  

Codorus: Brittany Andress. 

Dallastown: Joshua Copp and Shanta Hake.  

Dillsburg: Kinsey Anderson, Megan Bell, Danielle Garretson, Jennifer Hammell, Derek Kuhn and Yvonne Murray. 

Dover: Peyton Gorham, Krista Hoppel, Sarah Howe, LeRai Morgan and Samantha Slater.  

Etters: Colleen Cuthbertson, Rosemary Freeburn, Jahred Klahre, Crystal Kordowski, Sherry McConaughey and Valerie Schmidt.  

Hanover: Samantha Johnson, Aubrey Scott and Shelby Wolf. 

Lewisberry: Maximillian Van Schilt.  

Manchester: Kelsey Anderson, Amanda Deitz and Ariel Livelsberger.   

New Freedom: Stephanie Reip.  

New Park: Susan Tracy.  

Seven Valleys: Michael Geesey.  

Stewartstown: Kimberly Romoser.  

Windsor: Alayna Galbraith. 

York: Brooke Abdella, Anthony Bailey, Tasha Bates, Jeremy Bultron, Linda Collins, Stephanie Dickmyer, Elisabeth Eakins, Natanael Feliciano, Jennifer Fissel, Caitlin Garner, April Gibbons, Christina Hodges, Nathaniel Kosalek, Hilary Loehwing, Michael Martin, Kimberly Miller, Michelle Nace, Kayla Oberdick, Miki Rabuck, Eduardo Ramos, Lynneth Renomeron, Joshua Smith and Adam Walker. 

York Haven: Felicia Gudz. 



Azusa Pacific University: Zachary Poole, of Dillsburg. 

Bucknell University: Cynthia Filpo Diaz, of Dallastown; Amanda Craver, of Spring Grove; and Sam Lauer and Nigel Ravida, both of York.

Cedarville University: Daniel Mervine, of Dover, and Victoria Handley, of Etters. 

East Stroudsburg University: Rusty Miller and Megan Solorzano, both of Dillsburg; Sarah Yinger, of Dover; Joseph Fought, of Etters; Samantha Lamont, of Felton; Adam Alton and Robert Wildasin, both of Hanover; Madison Reichard, of Mount Wolf; Tyrell Clark, of Red Lion; and Marquis Fells, Tanner Ierley, Chase James and Deveney Young, all of York.  

Eastern New Mexico University: Michael Calvaresi, of Stewartstown. 

Fort Hays State University: Anthony David Storck, of Windsor. 

University of New Hampshire: Lia Breeden, of York. 



James Madison University: Lauren Marie Price, of Spring Grove.

Simmons College: Jennifer Kerstetter, of Felton.



Ashland University: Sophia Livaditis, of York. 

Geisinger Commonwealth School of Medicine: Sriharsha Talluri, of York.