People You Know, Oct. 27



TrueNorth Wellness Services: The agency’s Crisis Intervention program has been renewed for accreditation by the American Association of Suicidology. The program is led by Jayne Wildasin, crisis intervention manager, at TrueNorth facilities in York and Adams counties.

York College: The Department of Campus Safety recently received accreditation from the International Association of Campus Law Enforcement Administrators. The YC department includes sworn campus law enforcement officers, professional and student security officers, dispatchers, office support staff and transportation drivers.


York College: The Alumni Relations Office presented alumni awards on Oct. 6 to Cynthia Moyer Dotzel, of York, Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award; Graham Lau, of Boulder, CO, Distinguished Recent Graduate Award; Melanie Groft Cohen, of Chalfont, PA, Distinguished Alumni Service Award; Lawrence Raff, of Verona, NJ, Alumni Professional Excellence Award; and Cynthia Crimmins, of York, Professional Service and Leadership Award.


Eastern Mennonite University, Lancaster: Missy Fair and Jennifer Ferber, both of York.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Ashley E. Orewiler, of Hanoverr.


Indiana University of Pennsylvania: James Louis Jordan, of Mount Wolf; Michael Francis Romano, of Red Lion; Joshua E. Elsen, of Shrewsbury; Taylor Marie Grant and Catherine Lee Putt (dual degree), both of York; and Miranda Jo Lomman (degree and certificate), of York Haven.


Elizabethtown College: Adam M. Amspacher, of Glenville, and Emily R. Good, of York.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Andrea L. Henry, of York.


Indiana University of Pennsylvania: Adelle C. Campbell, of York.


Alvernia University: Ashlin Young, of Glen Rock, has been named a tutor in nursing by the Academic Success Center.

Bob Jones University: Levi Myers, of Dover, has been named to the 2017 string orchestra and the concert choir.

Bob Jones University: Leah Edwards, of Delta, is serving as an intern with Carolina Moves Property Management and Real Estate in Greenville, SC.

Concordia University, Nebraska: Anna Holle, of Stewartstown, performed in the Symphonic Band’s fall concert.

Lebanon Valley College: Jordan Heavel, of Hanover, recently earned Middle Atlantic Conference Commonwealth weekly honors. He was named Men's Tennis Player of the Week.

Lebanon Valley College: Local students who took part in the Wig & Buckle Theater Co.’s rendition of “Nice Work If You Can Get It” are Beth Rineholt, of Windsor, in the role of Midge, and Austin Peterman, of York, as the sound coordinator.

Lebanon Valley College: Alexandria Lehman, of York, a chemistry major, is one of 10 science students to be involved in the creation of the 2017 Flying Dutchmen Ale. The group worked with Snitz Creek Brewery.

Salisbury University: Kaila Beach, of Stewartstown, was recently accepted into Phi Eta Sigma national freshman honor society.

Susquehanna University: Tessa Minicozzi, of Lewisberry, has been named to the Global Opportunities program, studying in Scotland at the University of Stirling for the fall semester.

Susquehanna University: Abby Conway, of York, was named an orientation team leader.

University of Findlay: Neil Nicholson, of Felton, has been elected president of the American Chemical Society.

Wilkes University: Nate Barnhart, of Hanover, has been elected parliamentarian of the Student Government Executive Board.

York College: Local students who were recognized by faculty members on National Day on Writing are Alexis Czaplinski, of Glen Rock, and Sara McLaughlin, of York.

York County 4-H: Wesley Fitzgerald, of Seven Valleys, finished ninth in the agricultural tractor contest, at the 67th annual National 4-H Engineering Challenge, Sept. 24-26 in West Lafayette, Indiana.


Air Force: Airman Drew P. Myers graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air Force: Airman 1st Class Cody W. Crumbling, of York, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air Force: Airman Austin E. Tate, of York, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air Force: Airman 1st Class Kristal T. Montalvo, of York, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air Force: Airman Austin N. Michael, of Manchester, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air Force: Airman 1st Class Rodney J. Howlett III, of Dallastown, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.


York Catholic High School: Students who were recently inducted into the local chapter of the National Honor Society are:

Seniors: Emma Poff and Catherine Tillotson.

Juniors: August Alfano, Renee Bonner, Rebekah Boyer, Luke Brauer, Clare Brennan, Bryan Bullen, Naomi Doyle, Annabella Ebel, Anna Fraser, Chandler Hake, Megan Hale, Isabella Kepner, Natalie Kerchner, Harris Kohl, Claire Laux, Alexis Logsdon, Luke Motter, Richard Pokrivka, Kathryn Rader, Grace Reed, Sarah Reed, Miranda Shearer, Kaitlyn Staub, Jordyn Templeton, Sarah Volk and Abigail Wurzbach.

York County School of Technology: Students who were recently inducted into the school’s chapter of the National Technical Honor Society are:

Seniors: Kayla Anaya, Elizabeth Arnett, Lynsey Belaus, Haydee Cajigas, MiLaisha Cornish-Holley, Ramiya Davis, Leonelie De La Cruz, Alisyn Dellinger-Herman, Tara Fitz, Jada Ford, Courtney Kline, Caroline Morales, Julie Nunez, Michelle Rivera, Samuel Rowcliffe, Jenica Sanh and Jeffrey Stonesifer.

Juniors: Brianna Boyer, Allison Breslin, Chloe Childers, Leah Crist, Madisyn Deller, Maggie Emig, Karina Evans, Jacob Goshkey, Megan Hayter, Nathan Lahr, Jessica McDermott, Hunter McGlaughlin, Ireland Parker, Elisabeth Schueneman, Dayvon Sexton-Nguyen, Kyrstin Shaull, Morgan Shue, Danny Sixtos, Isaiah Smith, Samuel Waltemyer and Kaitlyn Whittemore.


Susquehanna Lions Club: Winners of the 52nd Manchester/Mount Wolf Halloween parade, held Oct. 21, are:

Best of parade: Dover Bethany United Methodist Church, shoe box band.

Brownies/Cub Scouts: first, Cub Scout Pack 312, Lisburn, and second, Cub Scout Pack 248, Mount Wolf.

Early antique, 1954 and older: first, David Ober, 1951 fire truck; second, Harold Brown, 1937 Chevy; and third, Roy Yeager, 1936 Plymouth.

Later antique, 1955-79: first, Harold Brown, 1971 Chevy truck; second, Chris Pawelczyk, 1969 Chevy Camaro; and third, Paul Eldeblute, 1968 Mustang.

Classis cars (1980-1990): first, Jerry Shaffer, 1981 Camaro Z28; second, Levi Willders, 1990 Chevy SS; and third, Mike Confonti, 1987 Monte Carlo.

Miscellaneous vehicles: first, Union Fire & Hose Dover, and second, Kay's Reflection.

Families and friends: first, the Albright family.

Miscellaneous: first, UTA Karate Manchester.

Individual costumes: first, Todd Heiland.

Children/youth organizations: first, Zion View Athletic Association; second, NEYSA football cheerleading; and third, NEYSA wrestling.

Adult organization: first, Susquehanna VFW, Mount Wolf, and second, White Rose Clown Clubs, Elizabethtown.

Best seasonal float: first, The Bear Family, Horror Hospital; second, Farmer Dan's Pumpkin Stand; and third, Halloween Park.

Best miscellaneous float: first, Northeastern Honor Bus; second, Line-X, Bumps & Berms BMX; and third, Scooby Doo.

Tractors and off-road: first, Old Tymes Days, blue 4000 Ford; second, Colin Lucabaugh, 1947 John Deere, 1945 Farmall; and third, Glenn Updegraff Jr., red and white Ford.

Email items for this column to