People You Know, Sept. 22



Michael Torbert

Susquehannock High School: Student Michael Torbert recently participated in the Youth Leadership Council in Washington, D.C. Sponsored by the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association, he was nominated to attend by Adams Electric.


Central Penn College: Brittany Andress, of Codorus; Justine Bauer, Megan Bell, Jodi Brown and Derek Kuhn, all of Dillsburg; Carissa Althouse. Krista Hoppel, LeRai Morgan, Samantha Slater and William Smith, all of Dover; Rosemary Freeburn, Tami Holzel, Crystal Kordowski and Alex Madrid, all of Etters; Latoya Jones, of Felton; Jennifer Carbaugh, Jennifer Fissel, Kelli Kint, Allison Miller, Kelsey Stoner, Shannon Waldrup and Shelby Wolf, all of Hanover; Megan Rycek, of Hellam; Amanda Deitz, Ariel Livelsberger, Kyle Mathis and Maxine Snelbaker, all of Manchester; Samantha Johnson and Stephanie Reip, both of New Freedom; Jena Hull, of Spring Grove; Kimberly Romoser, of Stewartstown; Ronald Grim, of Wellsville; Alayna Galbraith and Chris Moreschi, both of Windsor; Jason Cox and Joseph Foehlinger, both of Wrightsville; Krista Byerts, Misty Chalk, Kiana Chow-Kai, Linda Collins, Leslie Currier, Victoria Damiano, Stephanie Dickmyer, Natanael Feliciano, Caitlin Garner, Sarah Heverly, Nathaniel Kosalek, Crystal Kreider, Hilary Loehwing, Kimberly Miller, Natasha Mitchell, Kayla Oberdick, Eduardo Ramos, Samantha Rengifo, Miki Rodgers, Landon Roe, Jenny Sherman, Joshua Smith, Adam Walker, Kodi Wilkerson and Hannah Williams, all of York; and Courtney Cotto, of York Haven.

University of Alabama: Christian A. Wingert, of York.


William Carey University: Crystal M. Starner, of Dover.


Georgia State University: Reaghan Braun, of Hanover.


Local semifinalists:

Central York High School: Steven Zhang.

Dallastown Area High School: Shreya J. Rajachandran,

Northern High School: Hannah K. Cornett.

Red Land High School: Erin C. Smith.

South Western High School: James P. Graham.

Susquehannock High School: Erik T. Younkin.

Spring Grove Area High School: David L. Taglieri.

West York Area High School: Leah E. Jameson and Edmund J. Jermyn.

York Suburban High School: Steven W. Burchett, Bryce P. Gavin, Charlotte B. Nesbitt and Zezette T. Pflaum.


Lebanon Valley College: Local students who are participating in the Pride of The Valley Marching Band are Katherine Dudding, of Dillsburg; Valerie Kosson and Taylor Reed, both of New Freedom; Jacob Weller, of Wellsville; and Kate Eckman, Abby Hamilton, Patrick Holmgren and Breah Koller, all of York.

Susquehanna University: Local students who were named presidential fellows are Alexandria Dellone, of Dallastown, and Jordan Sanderson, of Mount Wolf.

Susquehanna University: Erin McCabe, of Hanover, has been named to the fall stadium band.


U.S. Military Academy: Cadet Jacob M. Spangler, of York, completed cadet basic training.

Navy: Cmdr. Ryan Lilley, formerly of Hanover, was named commanding officer of Patrol Squadron 45, Jacksonville, FL, after deployment in Sicily.


Rutter’s has donated $10,000 each to five charitable organizations through Pre-K EITC funding. The funds will be used for scholarships. The organizations are Hanover YMCA; Hanover YWCA; United Way of Franklin County; United Way of Carlisle and Cumberland counties; and The Vista School.

Rebecca Gibson of Codorus, has been promoted from lecturer to assistant professor of education at McDaniel College. She teaches in the education and master’s degree programs.

Brandy Law, of Keller-Brown Insurance Services, Shrewsbury, has earned a Certified Insurance Counselor designation. Law is a commercial insurance protection analyst and has been with the agency for four years.

Email items for this column to

Brandy Law
Rebecca Gibson