People You Know, May 16


Email items for this column


Lebanon Valley College: Local students who received Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges awards are Kyle Cook, of Dover; Morgan Yealy, of Hanover; Kali Rodgers, of Lewisberry; Glenn Dietrich and Laura Schmidt, of Red Lion; Molly Stanley, of Shrewsbury; Rebecca Sitler, of Wrightsville; and Austin Seitzinger, Morgan Webb and Bradley Wood, all of York.

Lebanon Valley College: Among the students who were recognized at the spring awards and recognition ceremony are:

Felton: Joelle Godfrey, the June E. Herr Scholarship for Elementary Education and the Dean Rosemary Yuhas Award.

Glen Rock: Josiah Schendel, the Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award.

Manchester: Korissa Herrold, the Baish Memorial History Award and SPSEA Award for Excellence in Teaching Performance in Secondary Education.

Red Lion: Olivia Uberti, the Mund Scholarship.

Wellsville: Jacob Weller, the Robert W. Smith Award in Music.

York: Morgan Bamberger, the June E. Herr Scholarship for Elementary Education and Wig & Buckle Theater Co. Richard B. Saltzer Memorial Award; Paul Berry, the Frank Stachow Memorial Award; Mitchell Crane, the Beta Beta Beta Freshman Achievement Award in Biology; Lyndsay Riedel, the Dr. George R. Struble Memorial Award; Macie Schantz, the Cloyd H. Ebersole Scholarship; and Kayla Zimmerman, the Outstanding Student in French.

Lycoming College: Jessica Tayson, of Delta, received a Commercial Design Award in April at the annual honors convocation.


Rutter’s Children’s Charities: More than $175,000 was raised for central Pennsylvania charities at Rutter’s 5th annual golf outing recently at the Out Door Country Club.


Bloomsburg University: Benjamin Kuhn, of Dallastown, and Jon Snyder, of York, were initiated into Beta Gamma Sigma business honor society.

Coastal Carolina University: Brock Geiman, of Glenville, was inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma international business honor society.

Kutztown University: Verenice Cervantes, of York, was inducted into Sigma Delta Pi national Hispanic honor society.

Lebanon Valley College: Sydney Fuhrman, of York, was inducted into Sigma Tau Delta international English honor society, and Kayla Zimmerman, of York, was inducted into Phi Sigma Iota international department of languages honor society.

The University of Alabama: Marybeth Taglieri, of Spring Grove, received the Outstanding Junior recognition at the recent Order of Omega leadership honor society banquet.


Ithaca College: Amy Whitesell, of Shrewsbury, performed in a concert at the Lincoln Center on April 29.

Lebanon Valley College: Among the students who displayed academic and creative work during the Inquiry Symposium on April 27 are Bradford Capatch and Nicholas Jones (first place, digital communications), both of Dallastown; Courtney Benson and Travis Saylor (first place, digital communications), both of Dillsburg; Devin Brown, of Etters; Morgan Strickler, of Hallam; Thomas Fallon, Brandon McMinn and Morgan Yealy, all of Hanover; Korissa Herrold, of Manchester; and Jordyn Miller, Austin Peterman, Lyndsay Riedel (second place, digital communications), Morgan Webb (first place, biology), Erica Wise and Kayla Zimmerman, all of York.

Lycoming College: Artwork by Jessica Tayson, of Delta, was included in the annual Senior Art Show.

Stevenson University: Local students who were inducted into Who's Who Among Students are Anthony Snively, of Hanover, and Karley Andrews and Holli Eppley, both of York.


National Merit Scholarship Corporation: Local winners of the $2,500 scholarships are Daphne Weiss, of South Western High School; Adam D. Wolnikowski, of Eastern York High School; and Elizabeth K. Huh, of York Suburban High School.

Spring Grove Area High School: Senior Mark Prusakowski was named a finalist in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program and junior Jenna Kile won the 2017 Junior Travel Award, worth more than $3,500, for her achievement on the National Spanish Examination and for her skills in the Spanish language.

Logos Academy: Funds for student scholarships were donated by UGI Energy Services LLC. The contribution was facilitated through Pennsylvania’s Department of Community and Economic Development Opportunity Scholarship Tax Credit program.