Repair to damaged Queen Street overpass to cost $600K — and PennDOT is suing trucking company to foot the bill

People You Know, Feb. 23



West York Area High School: Caleb Smith has been named a delegate to the Washington Youth Summit on the Environment at George Mason University in June.


Caleb Smith

Lycoming College: Sean Bathgate, of Hanover; Cara Brooks, of York; and Rachel Duncan, both of York Haven.

Notre Dame of Maryland University: Erica R. Little, of Red Lion.

Stevenson University: Maggie Noll, of Dallastown; Kaitlyn Leftridge, of Felton; Andrew Garver, of Glenville; Burk Kane, Brady Knouse, Zachary Lee, Fawn Luckenbaugh, Sean McFadden, Samantha Smith, Anthony Snively and Ashley Witt, all of Hanover; Ashli Glatfelter, of Manchester; Shayne Stockslager, of New Freedom; Daniel Waldrup, of Red Lion; Nathaniel Ellis, Madison Jones, Joel Klopcic and Erin Orwig, all of Stewartstown; and Karley Andrews, LaDena Eames, Holli Eppley, Rebecca Gruver, Alicia Hasenfuss, Jordan Hershberger, Nicole Labonte, Judstn Mehring, Courtney Sheckells, Landon Shorts and Alexis Young, all of York.

University of Findlay: Sarah Kistner, of Dover; Kaylyn Cole, of Hanover; and Casey Jones, of Lewisberry.


Albright College: Melissa Inners, of York, summa cum laude.

Miami University: Mike Muir, of York.


YTI Career Institute, motorcycle technology campus: Thomas J. Crouse, of Airville; Andrew R. Pangburn, of Dallastown; Mason G. Myers, of East Berlin; and Tood E. Barshinger and Anthony A. Wintermyers, both of York.

YTI Career Institute, York campus: Jacob S. Ford, of Abbottstown; Isaiah J. Baldwin and Raquel A. Rice, both of Airville; Jesse T. Anderson and Irvin D. Arter, both of Dallastown; Glenn M. Mazzei, of Dover; Michael Flanagan, of East Berlin; Chasity O. Gerver and Alexandra N. McBride, both of Etters; Kelsey E. Messinger, of Hanover; Samantha J. Wagner, of Mount Wolf; Toni K. Hessberger, Jesse D. Kent and Trisha E. Witmer, all of Red Lion; Tyler D. Hackman and Trenton Holm, both of Shrewsbury; Brittney A. Legge, of Spring Grove; Courtney L. Horvath and Christopher D. Stephens, both of Windsor; Madison R. Backel, Tyler Cassel, Gage C. Dale, Jay L. Deister, Ian M. Dellinger, Joshua Garcia, Roy L. Hughes, Jennifer Illyes, Natalie M. Knotts, Brenda D. Lozano Hernandez, Keith J. Lueke, Sara R. McDonald, LaDeja U. Mitchell, Destiny M. Moskowitz, Gabrielle H. Rishel, Bilal H. Siddiqui and Jana M. Tyson, all of York; and Jayla Moul, of York Haven.


Alvernia University: Local high school seniors who’ve received merit scholarships for the 2017 fall semester are:

Presidential ($17,500): Nicholas Sobestanovich, Central York High School; Lyndee Anders, Dallastown Area High School; Emily Ritter, Delone Catholic High School; Bryclyn Kuhn, Hanover Senior High School; Tailyn Kite, Pennsylvania Leadership Charter School; and Noah Wilson, Spring Grove Area High School.

Trustees ($15,500): Jade Gipe, Dallastown Area High School; Abigail Lower and Kathryn Seigle, both Dover Area High School; Natalie Grim, Eastern York High School; and Palmer Rodenhaber, Red Land High School.

Veronica Founder ($15,000): Drew Scott, Dallastown Area High School; Paige Worley, Red Land High School; Shannon Walsh, Susquehannock High School; and Joseph Bode, Mayra Hernandez and Brianna Nelson, all of York Catholic High School.


York College: Taylor Jones, of Red Lion, received a second-place award in the student music video category from the Broadcast Education Association.

Email items for this column to