Three Northeastern boys' basketball seniors earn Gretchen Wolf Swartz scholarships

People You Know, Oct. 27, 2016



The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints: Madison Jacques, 18, of Springettsbury Township, received a Young Women’s Medallion in August. Jacques completed a Personal Progress Program that signifies a deep religious commitment to church precepts.

Iowa State University: Austin Egolf, of Dillsburg, was part of the undergraduate meat judging team, which finished fourth overall and won the processed meat division at the Hormel National Barrow Show Intercollegiate Meat Judging Contest. Egolf placed eighth individually in the processed meat division.

Lebanon Valley College: Morgan Webb, of York, won second place in the biological sciences category at the Undergraduate Research Symposium at UMBC in October.

Pennsylvania Parks and Forests Foundation: William Krouse II, of York, won second place in the My Parks and Forests category of the 2016 Through the Seasons Photo Contest. Krouse’s photo was taken in Ricketts Glen State Park:


New Oxford Harvest Day Parade: Winners are:

  • Best of parade: Kim’s Firecrackers for Disney’s “Frozen.”
  • Antique cars: First, Ron Frenette, 1924 Model T; second, Mary Margaret and Terry Thorne, 1931 Ford Model A; and third, Tracy Siegle, 1978 Chevy Corvette.
  • Floats: First, Linda Robinson, pirate ship, and second, Tim Becker, Transylvania express.
  • Marching/walking: First, Kim’s Firecrackers, Disney’s “Frozen”; second, Melissa Brown, New Oxford Scramblers; and third, Penny Wagaman, Explosion Dance Twirl.
  • Best costumes: Children’s, Karen Millar family for Russian nesting dolls; adult, Steve Brown for Pony Up; most comical, Amanda Marriott for mouse stuck in a trap; and most gruesome, JJ The Biker Dog for Ghost Train.


Shepherd University Foundation: York County residents who received scholarships are:

  • Morgan E. Arden, of Hanover, and Elizabeth Myers, of York: Moler General Athletic and Shepherd Fund Women's Basketball scholarships.
  • Kari Rae Lankford, of York: Shepherd Fund Women's Basketball Scholarship.
  • Kelsie Jae Weaver, of York: Rissler Presidential, Robert and Jean Rissler and Rubye Clyde McCormick scholarships.

Lebanon Valley College: York County residents who received a multicultural fellowship for 2016-17 are Jacob Cromer, of Dillsburg; Nancy Diaz Fajardo, of Hanover; Afi Belgrave, of Mount Wolf; and Chance Atkins, Evan Greer and Jesus Salcedo.


Hofstra University: Damian Gallagher, of York, served as a general volunteer during the first presidential debate, Sept. 26 at the university.

Lebanon Valley College: Local students who were elected to serve in the 2016-17 student government are JoAnne Rubelmann, of Felton, representative; Nancy Diaz Fajardo, of Hanover, treasurer; Brandon McMinn, of Hanover, vice president; and Laura Schmidt, of Red Lion, representative.

Lebanon Valley College: York County residents Liana Basehore and Paul Berry are serving as volunteer mentors.

Lebanon Valley College: Peter Behr, of Dover, and Austin Peterman, of York, participated in the Wig and Buckle Theater Co.’s production of "Kiss Me Kate."

Susquehanna University: Students who are serving fall internships are Morgan Kutz, of Dillsburg, in the SU office of cross cultural programs, and Megan Zagoric, of Dillsburg, at Diversified Treatment Alternatives.


Air Force: Airman Michael C. Eagan, of Etters, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Air Force: Airman Caleb D. Garland, of Hanover, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.

Email items for this column to