Appeal deadline passes for hotly debated Dover solar farm

People You Know, Sept. 1, 2016


Email items for this column to


Boy Scout Troop 30

Ethan Braham

: Ethan Braham, 15, of Spring Grove, achieved the rank of Eagle Scout on March 15. Ethan completed a beautification project at Bethel United Church of Christ, near Spring Grove.


YTI Career Institute, York and Lancaster: Local students who graduated Aug. 30 are:

Brogue: Brody Snyder.

Dallastown: Lindsey Grimm, Alexander Hake and Shaun Stikeleather.

Delta: Nicholas J. Zell.

Dillsburg: Ryan Welling.

Dover: Devan Barker, Gena Daugherty, Chelsea S. Randolph and Aurian Ryan.

Etters: Francis C. Manroe.

Glen Rock: Gustave Landis and Shannon Roberts.

Hanover: Andrew L. Hockensmith, Kimberly Latimer, Brandy Mathias, Bernice Pompa, Harry Stubbs and Brienna J. Sufczinski.

Hellam: Amanda Carmine.

Manchester: Megan Swords and Joseph Writer.

Mount Wolf: Mary Alice Pershing, Ashley Thompson and Matthew Zukor.

New Freedom: Caleb Rohrnaugh.

Red Lion: Ashley Cooper, Taylor Eid, Paige Fishel, Yantes Gilbert, Laura Kohr and Scott Sensenig.

Seven Valleys: Corey Hunt.

Shrewsbury: Bryan Turner-Bowers.

Spring Grove: Samantha Haggerty and Bradley Holt.

Stewartstown: Zachary Cochran and Dalton Neal.

Thomasville: Matthew Barrick.

Windsor: Shari Hilbert and Candice Shaffer.

Wrightsville: Michael Dumczyk.

Yoe: Lisa Watkins.

York: Jacob Adkins, Magali Y. Alcala, Rebecca Arbogast, Aubrey Bosserman, Carrie Borwn, Natalie M. Bowman, Amy Boyd, Rachel Bragg, Amanda Brate, Kristi Carter, Jasmine Casanas-Spells, Abigail Castillo-Sabo, Elisa Cialini, Keyshla M. Claudio Tellado, Trevor Cohenour, Jymlise De Armas, Tyler Eldredge, Alex Fitzpatrick, Kelsey Frey, Madeline Geiman, Victoria Grim, Clinten Hargan, Angel Jusino-Ramos, Brianna Kibler, Courtney Lambert, Brittany Mullins, Ryan Nunn, Olga Padro-Sierra, Victoria Reever, Brian Riley, Lya Sassaman, Alyssa Smith, Brian Thompson, Martine Vincent, Cody Wagner, Ibraheem Walker, Robert D. Whittemore and Bobby Winter.


Elizabethtown College: Kim Zurin, of Wrightsville, graduated in August.


Elizabethtown College: August graduates are Amber Miller (cum laude), of Hanover; Benjamin Hullmann (magna cum laude), of Seven Valleys; and Jonathan Hubler (summa cum laude), of York Haven.

Western Governors University: July graduates are Allison Holbritter, of Mount Wolf, and Karen Jarboe, of Stewartstown.


Elizabethtown College: August graduates are Christine Heiges, of Dillsburg, Drew Heistand, of Wrightsville, and Courtney Kelly, of York.


Susquehanna University:

Matthew Rishell, of Jacobus, Pi Gamma Mu social sciences and Pi Sigma Alpha political science honor societies.

Shelby McGuigan, of Mount Wolf, Lambda Pi Eta communication and Order of Omega Greek honor societies.

Kellie Butler, of York, Lambda Pi Eta communication honor society.

Abby Conway, of York, Kappa Mu Epsilon mathematics honor society.


Elizabethtown College: Local students who were named to the honors program are Haley Young, of Hallam; Sarah Fuller, of Stewartstown; and Joshua Baker, Liz DiBiase, David Foery, Hannah Keeports, Jennifer Lloyd, Alexandra Plowman, Amber Swanick and Dylan Warner, all of York.

Elizabethtown College: Adam Amspacher, of Glenville, was named a resident assistant for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Lycoming College: Cadet Jacob Fronko, of Lewisberry, a member of the Bison ROTC Battalion, brought flags onto the field during a color guard ceremony at the national championship Little League game on Aug. 27.

University of Nebraska-Lincoln: Camille Hoover, of York, a baritone player, has been named a member of the Cornhusker Marching Band.

William Carey University: Crystal M. Starner, of Dover was named to the president’s list for the summer semester.