People You Know, June 20, 2016


Email items for this column to

Trey Duncan


U.S. Naval Academy: Trey Duncan, of North Codorus Township, was commissioned as a pilot after graduating with a bachelor’s degree on May 27.

Air Force: Airman Brett C. Wilson, of Hanover, graduated from basic military training, Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.


The Roman Catholic Diocese of Harrisburg: The Rev. Brian Olkowski, 29, of York, was ordained to the priesthood on June 4. He is a member of St. Joseph Parish, York.


Lycoming College: Emily Rupe, of Wrightsville, received the Commercial Design Award at the college's annual honors convocation in April.

Music: The Celtic Radio Music Network, Braintree, Mass., named the local band, Across the Pond, winners of its 2015 Best Contemporary Song Award for “I Know My Love” from the CD, “Kid on the Mountain.” Another song from the CD, “The Arran Boat Set,” was nominated in the traditional music category. Band members are Michael Morrison, of York County, and Chuck Krepley and Dan Diviney, of Adams County.


Bob Jones University: Leah Edwards, of Delta; John Surrett, of Dillsburg; and Benjamin Armstrong, of Hanover.

Clarkson University: Timothy C. Martin, of York.

Coastal Carolina University: Rebecca Austin, of Dallastown; Ashley Dressel and Garrett Elmo, both of Hanover; Brittany Temple, of Red Lion; Maxwell Hamlett, of Stewartstown; Grace Morrison, of Wrightsville; and Kara Funk and Kiersten Laird, both of York.

Furman University: Matthew Hogg, of York.

Grove City College: Lily Riale, of Felton; Alexander Stewart (with distinction) of Glen Rock; Seth Hall and Stephanie Warner (with high distinction), both of Hanover; Ian Bogle (with high distinction), of Manchester; Sarah Williamson (with distinction), of Mount Wolf; Sherri Barr, Drew Landis and Michael Renga (with distinction), all of Red Lion; Jenna Fabie (with high distinction) and Megan Fabie (with distinction), both of Seven Valleys; and Kathleen Blum (with high distinction), Lindy Bowser (with distinction), Madison Bowser (with distinction) and Katherine Lehr (with high distinction), all of York.

Lasell College: Myra Edmonds, of Dallastown.

Kutztown University: Kayla Mackley, of Brogue; Tyler Crawford and Amber DeFabio, both of Dallastown; Madison Bleiler, of Dillsburg; Dejha Clugh and Paige Sheridan, both of Dover; Aaron Hardenstine, of Etters; Joseph Zeller, of Fawn Grove; Sarah Gabriele, of Felton; Alyson Mallette, of Hanover; Sierra Fry, of Hellam; Adam Leisenring, of Lewisberry; Kelsi Sprenkle, of Manchester; Brieana Wise, of Mount Wolf; Jared Bailey and Evelyn Kunce, both of Red Lion; Julia Snyder, all of Red Lion; Cara McLain and Grace Weikert, both of Seven Valleys; Alexis Verzolini, of Stewartstown; Philip Smith, of Windsor; Noah Flaharty, of Wrightsville; and Elaine Atherholt, Lindsey Becker, Isai Collazo, Justin Corsa, Abigail Cox, Alaina Curry, Celina Dickison, Lisa Drusedum, Cassandra Ferree, Connor Gable, David Grow, Christine Hall, Alexis Hartnett, Teale Holderegger, Jensica Isiminger, Alyssa Krepps, Amanda Lehman, Catherine Loughran, Katelyn Melder, Katelyn Myers, Anthony Pavoncello, Luke Plata, Taylor Schlemmer, Maggie Seitz, Brooke Snyder, Alyssa Stonebraker, Rebecca Swartz, Victoria Walker and Madison Wampler, all of York.

University of Vermont: Aneesh Singal, of Red Lion, and Elizabeth McGavisk and Sarah Pell, both of York.