School Roundup, June 14, 2016

York Dispatch


Dover Area High School: Alyssa Lawton and Derek Breneman for May.


Dover Area High School: Senior Aaron Thomas and junior Tyler Hess, both DECA chapter members, placed 18th and 11th in the business growth plan event at the DECA International Career Development Conference in April. The convention was attended by 17,500 members and advisors.

Wellsville Elementary: Students raised $5,542.48 for the American Heart Association during the May 11 Jump Rope for Heart. The top fundraisers were fifth-graders Kate Gessner, Kenny Beinhower and Kade Kitts.

The Comcast Foundation: Recipients of the Leaders and Achievers $1,000 scholarships are Anna Frazier, of South Western Senior High School; Emily Hamme, of York Suburban Senior High School; Kyle Horn, of Dover Area High School; Emily Landis, of Susquehannock High School; Krishna Patel, of Dallastown Area Senior High School; Kayli Rentzel, of Northeastern Senior High School; and Samantha Thomason, of Eastern York High School.

Red Lion Area FFA: Those who were recognized at its annual awards banquet on April 26 are Mitchell Grove, Dekalb Award and top salesman; Heidi Chapman, outstanding leadership, senior; Stephanie Gerver, FFA pride; Andrew Bacon, star chapter farmer; Katie Shindel, star in ag placement; Casidee Crowl, star greenhand; and Caitlin Cullum, goat production, national-level silver (she received a citation from Rep. Stan Saylor).

Also, the 2016-17 officers are Allison Macklin, president; Larissa Herbert, vice president; Jacklyn Henshaw, secretary; Kayleigh Ness, treasurer; Tanner Snelbaker, reporter; Jillian Dettinger, historian; and Rebecca Parsons, sentinel.

National Merit Scholarship: Drake A. DeOrnellis, a homeschool student from New Freedom, received a Liberty University Scholarship, and Lynne Doreen Mooradian, of South Western High School, received a $2,500 Honorary Merit Scholarship.

Red Lion Area FFA: Members who were recognized on May 24 for awards given at the county competition are Allison Macklin, $600 for Outstanding York Fair FFA Member, Outstanding York County FFA Member and Outstanding Red Lion Area FFA Member, and Sam Bacon, $300 for the York County Agriculture Teachers Scholarship Award.

Southern Middle School: Christopher Moss and Annie Hebel received 2016 American Legion awards from the Glen Rock Post 403. The awards are the highest given to middle school students.