Penn State quarterback Matt McGloin is among the candidates for the Burlsworth Trophy, presented to the nation's outstanding college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The Burlsworth Trophy is presented in honor of Brandon Burlsworth, a former All-American and walk-on offensive lineman at the University of Arkansas. Burlsworth died in an automobile accident 11 days after being selected by the Indianapolis Colts as the 63rd overall pick in the 1999 NFL Draft.

The Springdale Rotary Club presents the Burlsworth Trophy. The honor was first awarded in 2010.

McGloin joined the Nittany Lions in 2008 and has emerged as one of Penn State's most prolific signal-callers in its 126-year history. A starter in 10 games prior to this season, McGloin was named the starting quarterback in June and has flourished in Coach's Bill O'Brien's offense, starting every game this year.

The former West Scranton High School standout has already broken three school records and is on the verge of breaking several more season and career passing marks with two games to play, both at home vs. Indiana and Wisconsin. Among the records he has broken is single-game completions with 35 in leading a fourth quarterback comeback win over Northwestern on Oct. 6.


This season, McGloin is 229 for 377 (60.7) for 2,676 yards, with 19 touchdowns and just four interceptions, which are the fewest among the conference's Top 10 passers. He leads the Big Ten in passing yardage, passing average (267.6 ypg) by more than 50 yards per game and completions, and is tied for the lead in touchdown passes. McGloin also leads the Nittany Lions with five rushing touchdowns.

McGloin has thrown at least one touchdown pass in every game this season and has 41 career scoring strikes, good for a tie for second place on the Penn State list. Two-time All-Big Ten quarterback Daryll Clark owns the Penn State record with 43 career touchdown passes.

McGloin earned his degree in journalism last May and is working on a second degree, in telecommunications.

Ten semifinalists for the 2012 Burlsworth Trophy will be announced on Nov. 20 and the three finalists will be announced Nov. 27. The winner will be announced Dec. 3 at an awards ceremony in Springdale, Ark.