• Reliance Cafe up for sale - 08/19/2014 11:11 PM EDT
  •  
     
    (Lauren Gross photo)
    Preserving the Harvest: Raspberry compote tops your favorite treats

    08/20/2014
    This past week, I made raspberry compote. A friend of mine brought me raspberries fresh-picked from her parents' home in Berks County, and I just love raspberry compote on angel food cake. 
    Full Story
    Easy casserole for back-to-school meals
    08/20/2014 - Those first few weeks when the kids head back to school can be among the most hectic for families. The lazy days of summer quickly give way to crazy schedules, homework and afterschool activities. Full Story

    Get a whole breakfast meal in a muffin
    08/20/2014 - When fall rolls around and it's back to school and work, wouldn't you love to start your day with something tastier and more substantial than that all-too-typical bowl of cold cereal? Full Story

    Make 'sushi' rolls with quinoa, turkey and veggies
    08/20/2014 - With a new school year on the horizon, it's time to think about what's for lunch. Brown bagging it is plenty economical, but a steady diet of sandwiches becomes boring pretty quickly, to say nothing of the fact that all those servings of refined carbs simply don't provide the energy necessary to power you through a long afternoon. Full Story

    From Scratch: Redeem zucchini with these cakes
    08/13/2014 - My groundhog and I are in agreement on one thing — zucchini is not our favorite vegetable. In fact, he (or she) won't touch them. Full Story

    Preserving the Harvest: Pickled peppers for your pantry
    08/13/2014 - Do you remember the tongue-twister about Peter Piper picking a peck of pickled peppers? This week we're going to can pickled peppers — not a full peck, but enough to put on salads and breads for several months. Full Story

    Homemade waffle sticks: Worth the effort or a pointless pain?
    08/13/2014 - A name like Babycakes immediately conjures an image of something twee and precious, and the Babycakes Mini Waffle Sticks Maker is indeed a chubby-cheeked cherub of kitchen appliances. Full Story

    Letter: Longtime fan of Alberto's Pizza
    08/13/2014 - Want to share your opinion about a restaurant review in The York Dispatch food section? Readers' letters are always welcome in editor Mel Barber's inbox at mbarber@yorkdispatch. Full Story

    Record corn crop predictions have farmers strategizing
    08/13/2014 - Farmers will produce a record-breaking corn harvest this year, surpassing earlier expectations of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, which on Tuesday revised upward its estimate of this year's corn crop to 14 billion bushels to exceed last year's 13.9 billion bushel record. Full Story

    Restaurant review: Dawn's deli deserves multiple visits
    08/06/2014 - This week, York Dispatch restaurant reviewer Hanna popped into Dawn's My Favorite Deli, 3397 N. George St., Emigsville. Full Story

    86-year-old Utah woman writes romance novel

    SALT LAKE CITY (AP) — An 86-year-old Utah woman became a first-time novelist by writing a steamy romance novel about a bored housewife. Full Story
    (Lauren Gross photo)
    Preserving the Harvest: Raspberry compote tops your favorite treats

    This past week, I made raspberry compote. A friend of mine brought me raspberries fresh-picked from her parents' home in Berks County, and I just love raspberry compote on angel food cake. Full Story
    (Marco Ugarte/AP)
    Dwayne 'The Rock' Johnson set for DC Comics film

    MEXICO CITY (AP) — Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson says he will play a role in an upcoming DC Comics movie adaption but has yet to decide between superhero Shazam and his arch-nemesis Black Adam. Full Story