York County's political landscape will change in less than a year, and thousands of Yorkers will be represented by different legislators when boundary lines shift because of redistricting.

A handful of local legislators are holding meetings to prepare residents for the changes, which take effect Dec. 1, 2014, and are the result of a years-long debate over gerrymandering and district lines.

New boundaries will affect nearly every part of the county and include one entirely new seat, the addition of the 169th House District, which is moving from Philadelphia to the Hanover area to reflect growth there. The area is currently represented by state Rep. Will Tallman, R-Adams/York, but a new representative must be elected for the new seat.

Senate changes: The change will also mean the relocation of the 15th Senate District, moving Sen. Rob Teplitz, D-Dauphin and York, out of York County and into Perry and Dauphin counties.

York County will continue to have just one Senate seat entirely in its boundaries, the 28th District, currently held by Sen. Mike Waugh, R-Shrewsbury, who says he's retiring at the end of this term.

Portions of York County will be included in three other Senate districts - with York sharing the 31st District with Cumberland County, the 33rd District with Adams, Cumberland and Franklin, and the 48th District with Dauphin and Lebanon counties.

House changes: The 94th House District held by Rep. Stan Saylor, R-Windsor Township will stretch from the Maryland line to Springettsbury Township, adding the township and giving the district a longer, skinnier shape.

State Rep. Ron Miller, R-Jacobus, will be gaining several municipalities currently part of Saylor's district. They are Hopewell, North Hopewell and Fawn townships and the boroughs of Fawn Grove, Stewartstown, and Winterstown.

Miller is reaching out to residents in the new area by opening a satellite office next week, on Wednesday, Dec. 11, in the Hopewell Township Municipal Building at 3336 Bridgeview Road in Stewartstown.

A member of Miller's staff will be on site from 9 a.m. to noon the second and fourth Wednesday of every month, Miller said in a press release.

"This will make it easier for anyone who can't get to my Jacobus district office to have a face-to-face meeting with someone who can answer their legislative questions or help them with issues such as Property Tax/Rent Rebate forms," he said.

He's asking constituents with questions to call his Jacobus office at (717) 428-9889.

Upcoming meetings: With the changes approaching, several legislators are hosting upcoming meetings and inviting residents to learn how they could be affected.

•Tallman is inviting residents of the 193rd District to an open house from 4 to 6 p.m. Thursday at his district office, 282 W. King St., Abbottstown.

Tallman and his staff will be available to answer questions about legislative services and provide information about how the 193rd District will be changing next year because of reapportionment. Those with questions are asked to call Tallman's office at (717) 259-7805 or 1-877-480-9525.

•Rep. Seth Grove, R-Dover Township, is hosting an open house at his district office at 1954 Carlisle Road from 3 to 6 p.m. Wednesday.

As part of the reapportionment, Grove will gain no territory but will lose Warrington Township and Wellsville to Rep. Mike Regan, R-Dillsburg, and Heidelberg Township to the new 169th District. Grove said Monday he has already told Warrington residents about the change, and he'll notify Heidelberg residents during a meeting 6:30-8:30 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 12 at the Heidelberg Township Building, 6424 York Road in Spring Grove. People with questions may call Grove's office at (717) 767-3947.

•Teplitz is holding his first meeting of his newly formed Veterans Advisory Committee, formed to improve laws to help veterans, from 6:30 to 8 p.m. Wednesday at the Penbrook American Legion Hall Post 730, 3818 Walnut St. in Harrisburg.

He's inviting residents who currently live in his district, as well as residents of northern Dauphin County and all of Perry County who will become part of his district.

Residents can sign up online at www.senatorteplitz.com/cac or by contacting Teplitz's Capitol office at (717) 787-6801.

-- Reach Christina Kauffman at ckauffman@yorkdispatch.com.